Day 1 Gratitude Photo Challenge – Home

So today is the first day of the new photo challenge. It was a lot more difficult than I thought it would be; I found it very thought provoking. The subject was: Home.

The longer prompt from Positively Present website, where I found the challenge is:

DAY 1: HOME

They say home is where the heart is, but what does “home” mean to you? Is it where you rest your head each night? Is it where you grew up? Or is home more of a state of mind? Whatever home means to you, reflect on it and share a photo of it today.

I thought about this for a long time last night. In fact it kept me awake, which almost never happens. I thought about what home is to me, and the first thing that occurred to me was that the idea of home was more a feeling than a place.

It’s the relief I feel when I see my front door after a long shopping trip. It’s the joy I feel when I’ve been away from my son for a morning and he’s waiting to give me a hug when I get in. It’s the security and safety of being in a place where I can do what I want, and feel want I want without fear of judgement (for the most part).

My mind then wandered to my childhood home. I had a fleeting moment of nostalgia; but then what caught my attention was a distinct feeling of sadness and jealousy that someone else was living there now. That they will have changed the décor, maybe even the layout. The idea of this ‘home’ is in my mind and in my memory; but it is no longer a home that exists in reality.

So it was a real challenge of finding something to photograph something that represents home to me. I just couldn’t capture the feeling of home, so had to make do with a representation:

IMG_4739

These are things that are the love and comfort of home for me. The slippers are my husband; my son and I. Our happy little family, without which, home could not exist, physically or emotionally. The tea is my primary choice of beverage. Nothing says I’ve arrived home better that sitting down with a hot cuppa. I couldn’t live without my phone (who can?!). When I’m in my ‘house home’ it connects me to my wider community and enhances my home experience no end. All of these objects sit in my ‘spot’ on the settee. Because honestly a home isn’t a home without your own favourite place to relax.

What have you, would you, photograph as your idea of home?

#Gratitude30

Let me know what you think...

